Staff and other appointments at the Oxford County Gaol and House of Refuge

Gaoler (Jail Governor/Superintendent)

Forbes, George Cameron, John Wilson, Charles Forbes, George Skinner, J.L. Campbell, John Fraser, D.M.

Turnkey

Paterson, John Forbes, James Robley, John Lawrence Brereton Skinner, John Hamilton, Melvin D. Emmirch, A. Walton, A.E. (Chief Turnkey in 1956) West, J.P. Rutherford, M. Andrews, B. Campbell, John Thomas, G.E. Zimmer, L. Fordham, G.A. McIntosh, E.H. Otis, H.

Gaol Matron

Hamilton, Rose (Mrs.)

Gaol Surgeon

Joy, Sylvanus	1866 – 1870
Turquand, John	1864 – 1880
McKay, H.M.	1881-1889
Rice, A.T.	1890
Welford, A.B.	1891
Rice, A.T.	1892 – 1905
McKay, A.	1906 – 1908
McKay, D.J.	1909 – 1912
McKay, Andrew	1913 – 1922

[before 1866] ca. 1874 – 1908 [before 1917] – [before 1925] -1951 – 1955 1961 – 1972 September 1972 -1974

[before 1866] -[before 1889] - 1907 ca. 1916 – ca. 1920 [before 1917] -[before 1925] -1951 - 1955 1951 - 19521951 - 1970 1951 - 1962 1953 1954 - 1962 1954 – 1961 1956 - [before 1959] 1959 - 19621959 - 19621960 - 1962ca. 1962 -

1951 - 1962

McKay, C.M.	1935 – 1954
Webb, G.A.C.	1955 - 1970

Gaol Barber

Doston, Thomas	ca. 1858 – ca. 1878
Sutherland, James A.	[before 1889] -
Edwards, John	1898
Hubner, Charles	1899 – 1901
Hubner & Walters	1902 – 1905
Hubner, Charles	1906 – 1907
Edwards & Andrews	1908 – 1911
Henderson, Frank A.	1912
Edwards, Charles & Andrews	1913 – 1915
Lorimer, G.E.	1916 – 1917
Connor, George	1918 – 1921
Edwards & McKay	1922

Gaol and House of Refuge Barbers

Edwards & McKay	1923 – 1925
Edwards, Charles	1926 – 1927
Connor, George	1928 – 1935
Strickler & Case	1936 – 1942
Case, Elgin	1943 – 1945

Management of the House of Refuge / County Home*

McDonald, Robert (Mr. and Mrs.)	1892 – 1893
Clarke, Oliver J. (Mr. and Mrs.)	1 March 1893 – 31 March 1903
Murray, D.G. (Mr. and Mrs.)	1 April 1903 – 31 December 1909
Parker, Frank (Mr. and Mrs.)	1 January 1910 – 31 December 1927
Forbes, Robert J. and Annie (Mr. and Mrs.)	1 January 1928 – 31 March 1965
Knott, D.F. (Mike)	1 April 1865 – 26 October 1969

Inspector of the House of Refuge

Anderson, James	1893 – 1906
Wallace, S.R.	1907 – 1912
Milton, Charles T.	1939

Surgeon (Physician) for the House of Refuge

McLay, A.	1893 – 1919
Sutherland, Donald M. (Col.)	1920 – 1925
McKay, C.M.	1926 – 1954
Webb, G.A.C.	1955 – 1968

*House of Refuge was closed in 1969 and residents moved to Woodingford Lodge, Woodstock.

Note: List was compiled by Archives Staff using County Council Minutes and records related to the Gaol and House of Refuge. For more information or for assistance with additions/corrections, please contact Archives Staff.